Could the ‘Game of Thrones’ Series Reach Eight Books?

Game of Thrones

Source: HBO

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series were abuzz earlier this month when Martin’s editor, Anne Groell, casually dropped the idea that series could extend to eight novels rather than the proposed seven. In a Q&A with fans on Suvudo Universe, Groell talked about the progression of the series from a trilogy to its current form.

Finally, we were on the same page: Seven Books for Seven Kingdoms. Good. Only, as I recently learned while editing The World of Ice and Fire (another awesome thing you must buy when it comes out!), there are really technically eight kingdoms, all having to do with who has annexed what when Aegon the Conqueror landed in Westeros. So, maybe eight books for Seven Kingdoms would be okay.

But the news was also polarizing to fans who were undeniably excited at the prospect of more content, but worried about the pace of the series. And the subject of pacing has already been a common thread when it comes to HBO’s hugely popular television adaptation of the series, Game of Thrones, which catches up quicker and quicker to Martin’s novels every year. However, Martin was quick to stifle the rumors and confirmed that the plan hasn’t changed.

“My plan is to finish in seven,” Martin told Entertainment Weekly. “But my original plan was to finish in three. I write the stories and they grow. I deal with certain things and sometimes I find myself not at the end of a story. My plan right now is still seven. But first I have to finish Book Six. Get back to me when I’m half-way through Book Seven and then maybe I’ll tell you something more meaningful.”